Last night I went out to listen to Jazz, alone.  I get lost in my thoughts when I listen to music but I find myself, of sorts. I was seated at a cozy bar and before long, I was deeply enchanted in the life of a darling young woman who was out on a date with her husband. As the music played, she leaned over and introduced herself to me and shared bits about herself. I shared a little about myself.  She shared that she had two young children, had been married for 14 years, and was a home-schooling mother.  She told me that almost apologetically.  I enjoyed thinking of my days of being a young mother and how much I loved that time in my life. She danced with her husband and made me reminisce and reflect on my younger days.  I wrapped my very own life up in the wishes and desires of everyone around me and did not recognize my own worth until it was gone. I was a 1950’s woman.  I grew up trained to be a 1950’s woman.   Now, I love my job.  I absolutely love what I do.  I love the schedule that it provides in my life.  I love the people that I meet.  I love the days off.  I am proud of the company I work for.  If you had ever asked me if I would be doing what I am doing, say, 30 years ago, I would never, ever, dreamed that I would be working full time in a career in Luxury Retail.  I however just love the fact that the paycheck that I receive every two weeks, is something that I truly earned without any help.  I get to spend it exactly as I want.  I get to plan ahead for my travels.  I feel free.  Could I be a woman who lunches these days?  Definitely not,  there would be too much free time.  How much shopping can a woman do? How many “things” do we need?Image  While I do hope that I meet that special someone to share my life with in the future, I believe that Mae West had it right when she said “Every woman deserves her own purse.” 

