I love Thanksgiving.  It is a true American Holiday.  I love the colors of Autumn, the fragrances, the leaves, the cool, crisp air.  I have much to be thankful for and I try to count my blessings everyday.  Many years, I have cooked the whole Thanksgiving dinner.  I love to cook for a group of people.  This year I have been invited over to share a meal with many friends.  I will make my famous Pumpkin Chiffon Pie from an old Junior League cookbook.  

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

1 baked 9 inch graham cracker pie crust

1 Cup Pumpkin

2 Cups Vanilla Ice Cream, Softened

1 1/4 teaspoons Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 Package  (3 3/4oz.) instant Vanilla Pudding

Whipped Cream

Ground Nutmeg

Let Ice Cream stand at room temperature in a bowl until it is soft enough to mix with pumpkin and spices.  Stir with a spoon until well blended.  Add Instant Pudding and beat with an electric mixer for at least 1 minute.  Pour into Pastry shell and refrigerate overnight or at least 6 hours.  Spread whipped cream over pie and sprinkle lightly with nutmeg to serve.  Keep refrigerated.

This is a true crowd pleaser.  Happy Thanksgiving!Image

