I love music and so I love to listen to lyrics and equate them with my life. Travelin’ Light was written by J.J. Cale.

I have written several posts of late, that pertain to my recent trip to Italy. While I have traveled around the world many times, I knew that this trip was only to be a precious eight days and I did not want to take any chances. I wanted to make sure that I did not lose any luggage and that I arrived and returned as easily as possible. I purchased the most wonderful new carry-on bag from Eddie Bauer. It was absolutely perfect, and fit in the overhead compartment and with a sale going on, I paid only $150.00 for this great investment. I always carry a cross body bag of some sort and I chose to carry one that I had used on my last trip abroad, a messenger bag. So, with my bag packed comfortably with my clothes for eight days and my messenger packed with my essentials for the plane, I set off. Here is a list of my travel necessities. Remember, you can always find anything you left behind in a foreign country. I wore a pair of comfortable jeans. I get cold on airplanes so I layered. A tee shirt and an active wear sweater over it. I wore a wonderful sophisticated down vest from Ralph Lauren. In my suitcase, the essentials became, a blazer, another pair of shoes, two scarves, a white tee shirt, a cashmere sweater, a pair of black leggings and a cotton button down blouse. A friend drove me to the airport the morning of my trip and somebody in my apartment commented that they would not have been able to fit just their shoes into my bag! I am so glad that I traveled so light. I flew from Denver to Washington DC and on to Rome. In Rome, I had to take one train from the airport to Rome Center and then transfer to another train to Florence. I found that my connections were so tight that it was a miracle that I actually made it. It never would have happened had I not traveled light. It is the only way to fly!

